I Know By Faith

Though the clouds may be low and grey

And shield against the warmth of day,

Though I cannot feel sunshine’s rays,

I know the sun’s not gone away:

I know by Faith, not by feeling.

 

Though through the window I can see

Rolling waves of a foaming sea,

I cannot hear them crashing down;

Yet I know they have a roaring sound:

I know by Faith, not by hearing.

 

I cannot see the Lord of Hosts;

Of having touched Him I cannot boast;

I cannot hear His voice speaking;

‘Haps His presence I’m not feeling;

And yet I know that He is near,

That He holds me precious and dear:

I know by Faith, not by sensing.

~ Written 1/23/11, Slightly edited

One thought on “I Know By Faith

Leave a Reply

