A Lesson from the Jewish Temple

Someone whose blog I follow recently posted this on her blog, and I thought it was so neat, I received permission to reblog it here:

Picture

As I was studying the construction of the Jewish temple, I was astounded by one of the things I found.

Within the Inner Court lies the main part of the temple building, the section dedicated to the Holy Sanctuary and to the Holy of Holies.  However, in order to enter the Holy of Holies one had to pass through three doors.  The first door called “The Life”, the second “The Truth” which led into the Holy Sanctuary, and the third door was called “The Way” which opened into the Holy of Holies.

Picture

(from Easton’s Illustrated Bible Dictionary by Matthew George Easton)

Isn’t this amazing!  When Jesus said, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6) He was using a word picture that the Jews would completely understand.  There was only one way into the Holy of Holies where the presence of God dwelt, and that was through the three doors called “The Way”, “The Truth”, and “The Life”.

So the next time you think of this verse or are questioned about whether Jesus is the only way, remember the diagram of the temple and that three walls separated the average person from the presence of God.  And those walls could only be overcome by going through three layers of single doors.  Jesus is our door, the only avenue to the Father, and the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture.”
~John 10:9
One thought on “A Lesson from the Jewish Temple

  1. That’s so amazing. I never knew about these things in the temple. You have helped educate me Alisa. Thank you. Love you very much…

    Like

Leave a Reply

