How Great is Our God

Several weeks back I heard Natalie Grant’s “King of the World” playing on the radio, and it was though as I was listening for the first time. “When did I forget that You’ve always been the king of the world?” I tend to focus a lot more on God being close and near, and sometimes I forget the larger picture of His greatness.

Just pause for a moment and try to wrap your mind around His hugeness. He’s so great that even Heaven can’t contain Him:

“Heaven is My throne,
And earth is My footstool.
Where is the house that you will build Me?
And where is the place of My rest?
For all those things My hand has made,
And all those things exist,”
Says the Lord.

(Isa. 66:1-2a, New King James Version).

So if the earth is considered His footstool, then were does that put us? My state of Pennsylvania is smaller than a postage stamp. And me? I’m less than a pin-prick.

Behold, the nations are as a drop in a bucket,
And are counted as the small dust on the scales;
Look, He lifts up the isles as a very little thing.
And Lebanon is not sufficient to burn,
Nor its beasts sufficient for a burnt offering.
All nations before Him are as nothing,
And they are counted by Him less than nothing and worthless.

(Isa. 40: 15-17)

And yet – God cares about all the thousands of people who make up each pin-prick. He cares for each one individually. Isaiah 66:2 continues with, “But on this one will I look: on him who is poor and of a contrite spirit, and who trembles at My word.” He hears our prayers. He knows our thoughts.

He holds us in His hand – and yet He dwells in our hearts.

What a great God we have!

2 thoughts on “How Great is Our God

Leave a Reply

