Jesus Vs Santa

christmas-box-71758_640

Take Note: We never celebrated Santa in my house. The below post reflects that. So please do not take offense if you celebrate him. And don’t show it to your kids.

In my house, I know Christmas is approaching when my mom starts playing her Bing Crosby Christmas CD. But early this month, she had not played it yet, and I was missing it. So I popped it in myself. As I was listening to the songs for the first time this season, a thought struck me as “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” was playing.

You better watch out
You better not cry
Better not pout
I’m telling you why
Santa Claus is coming to town
He’s making a list
And checking it twice;
Gonna find out Who’s naughty and nice
Santa Claus is coming to town
He sees you when you’re sleeping
He knows when you’re awake
He knows if you’ve been bad or good
So be good for goodness sake!
O! You better watch out!
You better not cry
Better not pout
I’m telling you why
Santa Claus is coming to town
Santa Claus is coming to town

I started thinking about how, in the old days, there was a tradition that naughty kids didn’t get nice presents. They would get a switch, or a lump of coal. So if you wanted to get a nice present, you had better behave yourself!

Now think about that for a moment. Basically, the kids had to earn their gifts – at least, if their parents actually followed through on the whole “Santa bribe.”

But think about that for a moment. What is the definition of a gift? The whole idea is that a gift is not earned. It’s simply given and received.

Like the gift of Jesus. The world didn’t have to behave before He came. We didn’t deserve Him at all! What we deserved was a lump of coal in our stocking – or rather, a switch! But instead, God gave us the gift of His Son.

And His Son gave us the gift of life.

Santa can breed a feeling of entitlement – we were good this year; therefore, we deserve some presents.

But God shows us that we don’t deserve anything. But that He generously gave anyway.

Santa gives to the children. Jesus’ gift extends to all people.

Santa only gives on Christmas. Jesus gives all year round.

Furthermore, Santa is but a fake persona. Jesus is the True, Living, Real-Life Son of God. And He beats Santa, hands-down.

3 thoughts on “Jesus Vs Santa

  1. I love this Alisa. What a great analogy. I didn’t come to think of this in my early marriage – only as I got older and my faith increased. How beautiful that you think this way already. I think I am a work in progress.

    Love you, love you –

    Like

Leave a Reply

