I’ll Scratch Your Back Anyway

nativityAs Christmas morning approaches, I find myself thinking more and more about  how Jesus left everything to come to earth, and how I should do all I can to follow His example of serving others.

Well, that is what I should be thinking.

Instead, I’ve found myself struggling with grouchy, self-pitying attitudes. Just this morning I was complaining to myself, “I’m always doing stuff for everyone else, but when I ask them to do something for me, they don’t want to do it.” (Which isn’t 100% true – that’s just how it seemed to me at the time).

Anyway, as I grumbled to myself, feeling grumpy at my family and feeling grumpy at myself for being grumpy in the first place, the Spirit spoke up (turns out my secret complainings weren’t so secret after all).

He reminded me of a verse that I had heard in the recent week or so:

“Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself” (Phil. 2:3 NKJV).

And all of a sudden, I saw how far from perfect I am.

You know, I’m the kind of person who (generally) loves to serve. That’s why I like being involved in ministry. That’s why I love my job so much. That’s why I help around the house so much.

But then I guess I expect the same to be done for me. When I ask someone to do a favor, and they don’t do it, I feel like it’s not fair, and I might even say straight out, “Look – I’m always doing these sorts of things for you, and now the one time I ask you to do it for me, you won’t?”

In those kinds of senses, I can be very much about equality. “There’s eighteen cookies, so everyone can have three each.” “I’ll scratch your back, you’ll scratch mine.”

And while equality may be good, it can be carried too far. And besides, anyone is capable of meting out equality.

But it takes something extra to do more than equality. It takes something extra to cause someone to put others’ needs before their own. And that something extra is genuine love, through God’s strength.

And if you lend to those from whom you hope to receive back, what credit is that to you? For even sinners lend to sinner to receive as much back. But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is kind to the unthankful and evil. Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful (Luke 6:34-36).

Returning to the Philippians verse, Paul goes on to write that we should serve others first – because that is what Jesus did.

In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus:

Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death – even death on a cross! (Phil. 2: 5-8 NIV).

So this Christmas, let us remember the great sacrifices that our Lord and Savior made for us, and be inspired to cheerfully and willingly serve others around us – without expecting anything in return. (Although of course, that would be a nice bonus! 🙂 )

All This For You

One time on earth, God was in the flesh born

So that others, through Him, might be reborn.

 

The Almighty became a babe helpless

So that us, with Holy pow’r, He could bless.

 

Our King was under human authority

So we could reign with Him for eternity.

 

Our Creator had no place to lay His head

So that in Heaven others might live and tread.

 

The Master became a Servant of mankind

So that in service, joy and crowns we could find.

 

The Giver of life had to drink and eat

So we could hunger no more at His feet.

 

Our Healer would live a short while here

So we could learn to die to our self dear.

 

Our Savior would then give His life painfully

So we could experience life more fully.

 

The Lamb rose from the grave in victory

So that from fear of death we could be free.

 

The Teacher left us for His home above

So He could inside us live out His love.

 

The Lord Jesus sacrificed all this for you;

So now I ask: what for His sake will you do?

~Written at age 16

3 thoughts on “I’ll Scratch Your Back Anyway

  1. What a timely and important reminder Alisa! I too can struggle with this! So true that everything we do , we should do unto the Lord! Makes ALL the difference ! Thank you for sharing! Love Aunt Audrey

    Like

  2. But it takes something extra to do more than equality. It takes something extra to cause someone to put others’ needs before their own. And that something extra is genuine love, through God’s strength.
    Love how you worded that……it truly takes the Lord to be a servant and have that heart….without expecting in return. WE all need that.
    Love,MOM

    Like

  3. Alisa, you are such a blessing and so wise above your years. I am very impressed with your writings and amazed at the poem you wrote at age 16.

    Love, Poppop

    Like

Leave a Reply

